Google announced last year that they will be shutting down their social network, Google+. The consumer version of the service will be shut down on April 2, 2019. This decision is due to the revelation of an undisclosed security flaw that excessively exposed users’ profile data.

Google+ currently has low usage and engagement, so most won’t notice it’s even gone. Google has previously reported 90% of Google+ user sessions last less than five seconds.

Since February 4, 2019 users are no longer able to create Google+ profiles and the Google+ sign-in button has also stopped working.

If you want to archive your Google+ data before it’s permanently deleted, here’s a guide of how to do so.

 

Want weekly blog and social media updates from FortisPay? Opt-in to our newsletter: learnmore.fortispayments.com/subscribe/

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and Twitter @FortisPay